LibGuides: Community Resources: Language Services

Framework for Training

Limited English Proficiency "share resources and information to help expand and improve language assistance services".

Ted Talks

Transparent Language

You can download the Transparent Language App via the Playstore or Applestore. Transparent language has over 110 languages to choose from. Instruction on how to Access Transparent Language.

Log in to Techlink
Click College Services
Select Library
Click on NC LIVE
If you are accessing NC LIVE from home or off campus. Type in the NC LIVE password.
Click on the Globe Icon, underneath the Globe it will read Language Learning
Select Transparent Language
You will need to create a username/password to access Transparent Language

Translators and Interpreters Services

Carolina Association of Translators & Interpreters provide service to North Carolina & South Carolina organizations that need Translators & Interpreters.

USA Translation Service is a online directory of organizations that offer translators and interpreters.

Communication Access Partners provides telephone, in person and video remote interpretation.

Language Matters assist clients with interpretation and cued language services.

Language Resources based in Greensboro offer interpretation, translation and American Sign Language.

Orange Translation Service offers professional translation services in 50 languages.

Do you need documents translated? If so, contact translation services.

ESOL Resources

National Center for Education

National Education Association

TESOL International

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages

ESL Partyland

Edutopia

Dunolingo is a free language resource.

BBC Teach free ESL teaching resources and videos

E-books

Thinking in English by John B. Muciaccia
ISBN: 9781610484237
Publication Date: 2011-12-23
Thinking In English represents Dr. Muciaccia's unique method of teaching English to non-native English speakers. Unlike any other English as a Second Language (ESL) book, Muciaccia's book features the cultural immersion approach that he has developed and practiced to a fine degree. In addition to his methodology, Muciaccia includes words of encouragement and reviews from people who have benefited from his approach to teaching and learning English.
Teacher Leadership for School-Wide English Learning (SWEL) by Michelle Benegas; Amy Stolpestad
ISBN: 9781945351761
Publication Date: 2020-03-15
The Teacher Leadership for School-Wide English Learning guide provides a roadmap for capitalizing on the often untapped language expertise of ESL teachers. By providing teacher leaders with the tools needed to develop customized professional development and engage in nonevaluative peer instructional coaching, the School-Wide English Learning (SWEL) coaching model supports English learners' academic success throughout the school day, not just when there is a language specialist in the room.
Nonnative English Speaker Teachers' Stories by Icy Lee; Paul Sze
ISBN: 9789629966409
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
In this handy book, Icy Lee and Paul Sze share openly about their careers as nonnative English speaker educators in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) and reflect on their teaching by recollecting their own experiences as learners, teachers and teacher educators. Also included are stories of other pre-service and in-service teachers with whom the authors have come into contact. Through teachers' stories that illustrate multifarious issues in TESOL, the book provides a source of inspiration for nonnative speaking professionals in the field, encouraging them to examine issues that are central to their career and to reflect on their own practice critically. The book consists of four sections that address core issues in second language teacher education, each beginning with an introduction, followed by a number of stories and ending with a few questions for stimulating further discussion on the issues.
Doing Action Research in English Language Teaching by Anne Burns
ISBN: 9780203863466
Publication Date: 2009-12-04
This hands-on, practical guide for ESL/EFL teachers and teacher educators outlines, for those who are new to doing action research, what it is and how it works. Straightforward and reader friendly, it introduces the concepts and offers a step-by-step guide to going through an action research process, including illustrations drawn widely from international contexts. Specifically, the text addresses: action research and how it differs from other forms of research the steps involved in developing an action research project ways of developing a research focus methods of data collection approaches to data analysis making sense of action research for further classroom action. Each chapter includes a variety of pedagogical activities: Pre-Reading questions ask readers to consider what they already know about the topic Reflection Points invite readers to think about/discuss what they have read action points ask readers to carry out action-research tasks based on what they have read Classroom Voices illustrate aspects of action research from teachers internationally Summary Points provide a synopsis of the main points in the chapter Bringing the 'how-to' and the 'what' together, Doing Action Research in English Language Teaching is the perfect text for BATESOL and MATESOL courses in which action research is the focus or a required component.

FREE ESL Resources

ESL English Language Learning: Listen and Read

American English resources for teaching, writing and listening.

Randall's ESL Cyber is filled with listening activities, quizzes and vocabulary

One Stop English-teaching resources filled with games, speaking exercises and listening activities.

Fun Activities for ESL students

Getting Started with English Language Learners by Judie Haynes
ISBN: 9781416605195
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
In Getting Started with English Language Learners: How Educators Can Meet the Challenge, Judie Haynes provides a practical resource to help educators who are new to the field of English as a Second Language understand the needs of English language learners. From learning how students acquire a second language to differentiating instruction to exploring practical strategies for teaching newcomers, this book will help educators learn how to create effective learning environments for English language learners.
Principles and Practices of Teaching English As an International Language by Aya Matsuda (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847697042
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
This book critically examines current ELT practices vis-à-vis the use of English as an international lingua franca. It bridges the gap between theoretical discussion and the practical concerns of teaching English as an international language, and presents diverse approaches for preparing competent users of English in international contexts.
Teaching Language Arts to English Language Learners by Anete Vásquez; Angela L. Hansen; Philip C. Smith; Anete Vásquez
ISBN: 9781136176319
Publication Date: 2013-03-12
This thoroughly revised and updated edition of Teaching Language Arts to English Language Learners provides readers with the comprehensive understanding of both the challenges that face ELLs and ways in which educators might address them in the language arts classroom. The authors offer proven techniques that teachers can readily use to teach reading, writing, grammar, and vocabulary as well as speaking, listening, and viewing skills. A complete section is also devoted to ways teachers can integrate all five strands of the language arts curriculum into a comprehensive unit of study with meaningful accommodations for ELLs. An annotated list of web and print resources completes the volume, making this a valuable reference for language arts teachers to meet the challenges of including all learners in effective instruction. New features to this edition include: An updated and streamlined Part 1, which provides an essential overview of ELL theory in a language arts specific context. Additional practical examples of language arts exercises, all of which are closely aligned with the Common Core State Standards. New pedagogical elements in Part 3, including tips on harnessing new technologies, discussion questions and reflection points. Updates to the web and print resources in Part 4

Community Resources: Language Services

English as a Second Language