Skip to Main Content
"Databases," in this sense, represent searchable subject collections. A database could be made up of periodicals, ebooks, or film, or a combination of various formats. Use a database for when you want to find specific articles - especially full text articles, or other complete resources.
The main collection of databases are found in NC LIVE and are listed below the listed subject suggestions. All the databases listed have relevancy for finding materials on aviation and related subjects.
You may also want to go to the Library's Techlink site and check out Gale Resources at the bottom of this page for additional databases.
You can do a simple, general search on "Aviation" within NC LIVE, or you may want to try something a little more specific. Some examples searchable keywords and subject headings you might wish to search include:
Also try other related fields such as "Avionics," "Aeronautics," and "Aircraft."
Specific NC LIVE Databases - try the individual databases below to search using your keywords or subject headings:
You can access Gale Resources by going to the Library's Techlink page, found in the menu under "College Services." Once there, select "Online Resources" from the menu on the left, and scroll a bit down the page. Note that a password is needed to retrieve materials: use the following, all lower case: nclive001 (note that those are "zeros")
You can also use a direct link: https://www.galepages.com/nclivefortcc
Credo Reference offers up subject dictionaries and encyclopedias that may prove useful, though technical sources vary. Here you can find resources such as An Illustration Dictionary of Aviation, and articles such as "Volcanic Ash Hazards to Aviation" in the Encyclopedia of Volcanoes.